Brakes for animals! (6thPlanetAng)

As I learn more about beloved cars, I enjoy writing out and I especially enjoy sharing what I have learned. I am in no way a mechanic, although I do work in the Automotive field.

Every car has a Braking system. From the early days of riding scooters, bikes and roller skates we have all learned (usually the hard way) that at some point we need assistance to stop.

Disc Brakes or Drum Brakes or both. Most newer vehicles have a disc brake system. (Check your owners manual to see which you have)

Disc Brakes consist of brake pads, brake lines, calipers and brake lines. Drum Brakes include brake lines, brake pads, brake drums and wheel cylinders.

Have your mechanic (or anyone you trust including yourselves ! ) check your brakes every 5 to 6,000 miles. Although a good mechanic may already be doing this for you.

 

 

